Sometimes you have to step back…

Throughout this journey I have taken many breaks – pauses really. I don’t enjoy the breaks, but sometimes I feel like I need a moment away from the writing. It can be very draining. When I am writing I want to make sure I use the right words, ones that will paint the picture clearly, that will make my story play out in the readers’ mind like a movie. Searching for the perfect descriptions and details takes an incredible amount of patience and mental stamina. But each time that I feel like I might burn out, I take a moment and pull back just a little, not too much because pulling back is equally as terrifying as staring at the blinking cursor on my Mac and feeling at a loss for words.

When I do pull back, I feel a knot form in the pit of my stomach. Like I am somehow slowing down my momentum. And that scares the heck out of me. But I do so because sometimes I need an external push of some kind to propel me forward. To keep me going.

I wrote in a previous post that I look for motivation wherever possible. One source of inspiration that I often turn to is a book. Usually it will be one of my old favs, but once in a while I will go to the library and ogle at the books in their shiny plastic ‘book jackets’ the way a child would gawk at cupcakes lining a bakery display case.

This last week was one of those moments when I needed to pull myself away from writing. For personal reasons, I felt as if I wouldn’t be able to concentrate as well as I would like and rather than fluff my way through the second draft, I decided to step back. I didn’t want to be completely unproductive so I decided to go to the library and pick something out. I walked into the Young Adult section and came across an interesting looking cover – heart shaped waffles and the title Tell Me Three Things. If you are a sucker for young adult romance novels then you’ll love this book. Julie Buxbaum does an amazing job of capturing the teenage inner monologue that we all battled with when we were dealing with our first love.  I forgot how awkward and confusing teenage years can be as it is, never mind when life throws a curve ball. It is sweet, funny and embarrassing at the same time. I felt that Buxbaum was truly skillful in her ability to make the characters and plot relatable and realistic. I finished it in less than a week.

Now that I got through this week, and read something that I enjoyed, I am ready to get back to work!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

